Happiness – Hurts

Posted: March 5, 2011 in Music
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Don’t be scared by the title of this post – “Happiness” is the album title, Hurts is the artist. (Yes, I think this irony was quite intended.)
And I am somehow in love with their music. It reminds me a lot of the 80ties electro and at the same time it offers very sensitive lyrics about the most tender subject in all of our lives: Love.
Not the kitschy, groovy and truly romantic kind of love, but the love we find in reality.
Not always happy, sad, destructive and yet with a fragile hope.
Like Depeche Mode’s “Enjoy the Silence” these songs tell you about the bliss of a moment, the small blink when you allow yourself to ignore the problems and the thought that feelings and hearts can break so very easily and just feel. It’s not a rose-coloured look onto the world but in the end I think it’s in a way better than the usual love song. This music stays with you in your happy times and in the moments that you break down crying because there’s another scar on your heart. You’re not alone.

Also, I am impressed by the vocal strength of the singer. At first I thought it was fragile and could not offer that much but listening to the songs I actually noticed that his voice holds many surprises, is stronger than I expected and that -even if it is not my beloved baritone-it goes under your skin.

Additionally I like the clear look of the guys. Structured, cold, unexpected.

Well yes, this is not a book review, but as said before, my library contains all kind of media.

So if you like electro and strong lyrics, I highly recommend giving Hurts a chance to gain a place in your life.

Leave a comment