But your tears are not mine…

Posted: April 2, 2011 in Music
Tags: , , , , , ,

Here’s another music related post and one of the more personal ones to be honest. This song,
“Stolen Season”, by The69Eyes, has been my very favourite song for years now even though I admit I am still not quite sure if I understand the full extend of it.
Finally, after years, I think I can finally grasp the biggest part of it though and even though the song will most likely only make you smile while tears are running down your face and the rain is pouring outside, it still tells you something else. You are not alone.
There’s a famous English saying. “I’ve been there.” Meaning as much as “I know what you are going through because I experienced something similar.” That is one of the things this wonderful song in minor expresses for me. The lyrics and the actual song are structured in a quite simple way but sometimes it’s exactly that what makes a song beautiful and worth listening.

In this song, Jyrki’s velvety, dark voice reaches the abyss of your heart, grasps your sorrow and opens your eyes. It’s a song full of despair and hope at the very same time. Yes, love brings tears, pain and sometimes we wish we could simply lock it out of our life…but nevertheless we never stop seeking for it, even if we don’t do it consciously. In a way the lyrics have always been contradicting themself for me.
“But your tears are not mine.” “As long as I can have you by my side.” Mh.
Well..that is life. We hurt each other, we laugh together, we love – we walk the wild garden side by side, experiencing its seasons together.

Love’s a stolen season – in any way. If you run away from it you’re stealing happy moments from yourself.
If you dare you might risk having your heart stolen.
And more practically compared to actual seasons: There are hot ones, blossoming ones, rainy ones, cold ones – the circle of the year is just like love.
Mh. In the end it’s on you to decide what you want I suppose.

So I’ve quite spoiled the song for you from its content – but that’s only my view on it. Listen to it and you might understand it completely different.

One of my biggest wishes is to hear this song performed live for once when I am at a The69Eyes concert.

Next chance: April 11th, Backstage, Munich.
(and for all of you who are not living in Bavaria, keep an eye open for the guys – they are still on their “DarkDecadence” tour and I am quite sure they will entertain us at some festivals this summer!)

The song reviewed above is one of their ballads but usually you get to hear goth rock songs by them that will get your ass moving. So give them a try. It’s like Elvis, just with a vampiric touch.

Leave a comment